Plastic Strawberries

It’s strawberry season and I am so glad to be enjoying another sweet treat from mother nature. The heart-shaped fruits are not only sweet and healthy, they make great gifts! These red berries carry a boat-load of beneficial properties. Chock full of vitamin C and antioxidants, strawberries also serve as nature’s Proactiv®! It’s no wonder these are my one of my favorite-ess fruits!!

The other day I walked into the supermarket and there they’re! Wearing a shiny, deep red coat, they were waiting for me to pick up a box. My mouth watered as I inched closer. They were delicious looking and I couldn’t wait to take them home. When I arrived, put away the groceries and proceeded to make a shake: a natural whey protein, soy milk, strawberries and ice. I started washing my strawberries and as you guessed, I couldn’t help but take a bite…. Crunch! (( chewing )) Ewww…. Not just eww but yuck! I felt a hollow middle in my strawberries and new this wasn’t normal. I cut a few of them down the middle and they were empty; all of them! I was disgusted. I couldn’t believe how plastic they looked. Had my fruits been genetically modified? I didn’t bother doing the research on the company to see how they picked their fruit. I knew what strawberries look and taste like and this certainly wasn’t it. At the time, my finances couldn’t afford me the luxury of eating organic so I settled for regular. I should’ve known something was wrong when I noticed that the berries had been flash steamed. Towards the stem of the fruit, my attention was fixed on the white pale looking top. What happened to the pink-reddish color I had grown accustomed to? Ugh…

What is organic food?

Organic foods are foods that are produced using environmentally safe methods that do not implement the use of modern synthetic substances such as pesticides and chemical fertilizers, do not contain genetically modified organisms. They are not processed using irradiation, industrial solvents, or chemical food additives.

Why organic?

Taste Better; True to Flavor:

Research shows that some organic foods are often lower in nitrates and higher in antioxidants than conventional food. Let the organic feasting begin! “Nothing beats the fresh taste,” says Britain’s HDRA organics association. “You can grow for flavour. Commercial growers have to grow for shelf-life.”

No nasty pesticides, fertilizers or hormones:

Designed to kill living organism, pesticides and fertilizers are harmful to wildlife, human health and endanger our environment. They contaminate our air, water, food and our health overall. “Pesticides are the badge of the amateur” — organic grower.

Foods to eat organic:

1. Baby Food.
2. Strawberries.
3. Bell Peppers.
4. Milk.
5. Corn.
6. Bananas.
7. Green Beans.
8. Apples.
9. Grapes.
10. Potatoes.

So eat up, be healthy and enjoy organic!

Nubiä
“The Modern Naturalista”

2 thoughts on “Plastic Strawberries

  1. Hey, Nubia! congrats on your new blog, business, and venture! I agree with you, 98.8%~lol…Organic is BETTER! However, Bananas do not need to be purchased organic. Reason: Their tough protective skin minimizes any affects pesticides would have. Further, because of the region in which it is grown, little growth hormones are needed. I read that somewhere…I’m available to be corrected…;-) ~Great post! Keep it up, so I’ll follow…

    • Thanks for the support Empress Addi. I’m really embracing the birth of the new projects. Re: organic bananas, I’ve read a few places where they are some of the only fruit that can be purchased non-organic, along with avocados. thanks for sharing Addi

Leave a Reply

